ICONS 2016: Canberra Youth Orchestra

2016 Llewellyn Hall Concert Subscription Series

Canberra Youth Orchestra present ICONS Llewellyn Hall 2016 Series

In 2016 the Canberra Youth Orchestra present ICONS, their Llewellyn Hall concert series.

Now that ICONS 01 & 02 have been presented, you can purchase an updated 2-ticket package for both ICONS 03 & 04 performances (or separately for each concert) by clicking through to Ticketek.

Adult: $40 for Sibelius + Brahms (normally $25 per concert to purchase separately)
Concession: $20 for Sibelius + Brahms (normally $15 per concert)
Family: $90 for Sibelius + Brahms (normally $65 per concert; 2 adults & 2 children, or 1 adult & 3 children)
Members: $10 per concert, using password emailed to MFC members

Below is a what the Ticketek page will look like when prompting MFC members to enter their password:

Ticketek password entry

Ticketek password entry

Don’t forget you can follow Music For Canberra on Facebook for further updates about the ICONS concert series!

Canberra Youth Orchestra's ICONS 2016 Program:

Icons 01: Tchaikovsky
Sunday 3 April 2016

Featuring soloist Louise Page OAM Soprano
Overture to Zampa – Ferdinand
Opera highlights by Puccini, Verdi and others
Contemporary favourites by Rodgers and Hammerstein
Symphony No. 6 – Tchaikovsky

Romantic and contemporary favourites unite in this stunning program of vocal and orchestral triumphs. Featuring soprano Louise Page OAM in selections from popular operatic and musical theatre works.

Louise Page is one of Australia’s most highly regarded singers. Based in Canberra, she has performed with the Sydney, Queensland, Canberra and Central Coast Symphony Orchestras and the National Capital Orchestra, as well as in numerous overseas productions. In 2007 Louise received a Canberra Critics Circle Award for music, and was named the Canberra Times Artist of the Year. In the 2013 Australia Day Honours List Louise was awarded an OAM for services to the performing arts.

Icons 02: Dvořák
Sunday 26 June 2016

Featuring guests Dr. Edward Neeman (Piano) and Dr. Stephanie Neeman (Piano), USA”Rhapsody in Blue – Gershwin
Concerto for 2 Pianos in E major – Mendelssohn
Symphony No. 8 – Dvořák

Two iconic works for piano and orchestra combine with Dvořák’s uplifting Symphony No. 8. Featuring world-renowned Juilliard School alumni Edward and Stephanie Neeman.

Dr. Stephanie Neeman has won first prizes in the Empire State International Piano Competition and virtually every major piano competition in Indonesia. She has performed to critical acclaim across the United States, Asia, and Australia. She is Visiting Professor of Piano at the University of Utah and the Head of the Piano Department at ELMS Conservatory of Music in Jakarta.

In the past season, Dr. Edward Neeman has been a soloist with the North Arkansas Symphony and the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Cuba, and played recitals in Australia, China, and across the United States. Dr. Neeman is currently on the piano faculty of Utah Valley University.

Icons 03: Sibelius
Saturday 24 September 2016

Featuring as a soloist one of the winners of the CYO Concerto Competition 2016, TBC
Polovtsian Dances – Borodin
Concerto selected by (and featuring) a 2016 CYO Concerto Competition winner
Symphony No. 2 – Sibelius

Opening with Borodin’s exuberant dances from Prince Igor, CYO sets the stage with a rich orchestral sound that continues throughout the program. Including a concerto performed by a winner of CYO’s 2016 Concerto Competition, to be held in early 2016.

This is paralleled with one of the more distinguished highlights of the Romantic period: Sibelius’ Symphony No. 2. Well-known for its lush orchestration and its grandiose finale, Sibelius’ most famous symphony shows the height of Finnish composition, moving through dramatic landscapes and paving the way for the remainder of CYO’s Romantic 2016 repertoire.

Icons 04: Brahms
Sunday 4 December 2016

Featuring as a soloist one of the winners of the CYO Concerto Competition 2016, TBC
Symphony No. 1 – Brahms

Further demonstrating the strength of Youth Music in Canberra, this program features a concerto performed by another winner of CYO’s 2016 Concerto Competition.

The Llewellyn series culminates with one of the masterpieces of the Romantic period: Brahms’ Symphony No. 1 in C Minor. Displaying the clear influence of Beethoven and simultaneously feeling a burning need to live up to such great legacy, Brahms shapes this exquisite work in typical symphonic form, utilising expressive soloistic and sectional writing to explore intricate textures and colours throughout the piece. Forming an exuberant close to the year, there is none other such piece to highlight the strength of a Romantic and iconic concert series.